EIB Network wins Honorary Award @ GJA Awards

Africa’s fastest growing media group, EIB Network, Saturday received an honorary award at the 21st Ghana Journalists Awards.

A citation accompanying the award praised the media group for their dynamism, which it said has greatly impacted the media landscape within the short time that it’s been around.

This year’s awards took place under the theme “Media for Undisputed and Peaceful 2016 Election: the Support of Civil Society.”

Entries were invited from members of the Ghana Journalists Association. Contestants were to submit entries for a maximum of two categories; and a maximum of two entries in each, for works published in 2015.

This year’s scheme is awarding a Hyundai SUV for the ultimate prize while winner of the Nii Kotei Dzani Award for the Best Finance Reporting will also drive home a brand new Hyundai saloon car.

The Ghana Journalists Association was stablished on August 15, 1949. The awards scheme started in 1971, initially under the auspices of the UAC and later the Ministry of Information. The GJA took charge of the organization of the awards in 1985.

EIB Network is led by Nathaniel Kwabena Anokye Adisi (Bola Ray). The company operates Starr FM, LIVE FM, Kasapa FM, GH One TV, Agoo TV (All in Accra), Ultimate FM & Abusua FM (Kumasi), Empire FM (Takoradi), and Agoo FM (Nkawkaw). The company also owns the Daily Heritage newspaper.