Dec Polls: EC clears four to contest presidential elections

NPP flagbearer Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo

The 2016 elections presidential ballot paper will have only four candidates on it because the Electoral has disqualified all other who submitted their nominations.

President John Mahama of the National Democratic Congress (NDC), Nana Akufo-Addo of the main opposition New Patriotic Party (NPP), Mr. Ivor Greenstreet of the Convention People’s Party (CPP) and Jacob Osei Yeboah, an independent aspirant have been cleared to

The electoral commissioner, Charlotte Osei at a press briefing on Monday announced 13 aspirants have been disqualified.

She said the nominations were rejected because they had filing anomalies including fraudulent signatures, absence of required number of signatures, improper filling of nomination forms, and improper documentation of obligations among others as the reasons for their disqualification.

People’s Party’s Dr. Papa Kwesi Nduom, the All People’s Congress’ Dr. Hassan Ayariga, the National Democratic Party’s Nana Konadu Agyeman-Rwalings, were among those who were disqualified.

Dr Edward Mahama of the People’s National Convention (PNC), Dr Agyenim Boateng of the United Front Party (UFP), Mr Kofi Akpaloo of the Independent People’s Party (IPP), Kwabena Adjei of the Reformed Patriotic Democrats (RPD), Dr Henry Herbert Lartey of the Great Consolidate Popular Party (GCPP), Mr Richard Nixon Tetteh (United Development Systems Party), Mr Ward Brew of the Democratic People’s Party (DPP), Mr Alfred Kwame Asiedu Walker, an independent candidate, and Akua Donkor of the Ghana Freedom Party (GFP). Mr Akwesi Adae Odike of the United Progressive Party’s nomination is on hold pending a court case.

Mrs Osei said the police will investigate some of the fraudulent information provided by the nominees